Daily Life

First blog post. Warning: It’s a long one…

So things just got real. I have been talking about doing a blog for years, but kept putting it off. Then today, my aunt started her blog. And I thought, if she can do it, I can too. It’s the new year, let’s start a new thing! I will probably be shaking my head later wondering why the hell I decided to add this to my ever-growing list of responsibilities, but here we go!

So a little bit about me. I am a 33-year-old mom to 2 boys. Ethan is my oldest at 8 and Chase is 5. I currently work 4 days a week, am part of the Parent Advisory Council (PAC) at my sons’ school, a member of the strata for our clubhouse, a coordinator for baseball and an avid baker and reader. I am a little nerdy and love passing that on to my boys.

You are probably thinking, ‘this woman is crazy!’ Well, you wouldn’t be wrong! I enjoy the chaos. In fact, I thrive on it. I have been living this life well before I had kids. Now, I am just bringing them down with me! Insert evil laugh here.

Why would anyone do this? Well, let me tell you. I want independence from my kids, and that is why I keep working. I like having the normalcy (at least our normal) of getting up in the morning, getting myself ready, getting the boys ready and then dropping them off at school and heading to work. That 1/2 hour commute is probably one of the most relaxing moments of my day! I can talk on the phone (hands-free of course), listen to my own music, or just drink my coffee and relax in complete and utter peace. PEACE. For those of you who have kids, you understand. You really get it. Kids are wonderful, amazing, inspiring creatures. But put them in a car together, even for 5 minutes, and they turn into screaming, fighting, biting monsters! This happens on the drive to school, which literally is a 2 minute drive! And before you judge me on driving them to school, I drop them off and head straight to work. There is no time to walk them there and then get to work. It just isn’t possible. I do what I can.

I am on the PAC because it is important to me. I have been on the PAC executive for 3 years. I like knowing what is going on at the school. I like being a fly on the wall at school. And most of all, I like being in constant communication with the staff at our school. Our staff are amazing! They are the stuff dreams are made of! The principal and vice principal make our large school seem like a small close community. And I am happy to be part of that community. The boys love that their mom is on the PAC and are very excited to learn of all the new events that we are planning. The other parents on the PAC Executive (okay let’s be honest here, MOMS) are incredible people. We have become friends, sisters in a sense. And I like to think that we have encouraged each other to become better people because of all time we spend together. I have formed my own ‘Squad’ of moms. Okay, I did not like using that word at all. Never again. NEVER!

The strata for our clubhouse, well that’s another story. I was volunteered for this position from a PAC sister (love you!) and was promised ‘it won’t be a lot of work. Only 1 meeting every 2 months and the rest is communicated by emails’. Let me tell you, those meetings, well they are at least 3 hours every time! And the emails, they are never-ending! But you know what? I wouldn’t change it. The clubhouse is important to our community. Some of you may be asking, what is a clubhouse strata? In our community, there are 4 townhouse complexes and in the middle of these complexes is a beautiful building, that looks like it should be on a ski hill somewhere, that has a Great common room with a kitchen and pool table and couches and chairs and tables. It also has a Library – another common room, a kid’s common room, a cardio gym, a weight room, a theatre room, an indoor floor hockey room, a pool and hot tub and a playground. It also has 2 suites in it that you can rent for when family is in town. These things make our community wonderful to live in. The boys spend most of the summer in the pool with their friends in the neighbourhood, many of which go to school with them. The playground is used all the time. We rent out the Great room for community parties, or bridal showers or baby showers. We use the floor hockey room for things other than just hockey. There have been bouncy castles and Jedi parties and soccer games and hockey and carnival games and we have done workouts in there. The theatre room is great for getting the neighbours together and watching a movie. The husbands like to get together once a week for ‘Tubby time’ in the hot tub to just relax and chat. So all of these things couldn’t happen or wouldn’t happen if we didn’t have a Clubhouse strata committee. And sure, the meetings and the emails seem a little crazy, but it is worth all the memories my kids are making in that clubhouse.

Baseball coordinator. Now there is an interesting one. I love sports. I might not be super crazy talented at all of them (or most of them), but I do love them. I want my boys to love sports. I think that you can learn a lot of great life skills from sports. There is being a team player, learning sportsmanship, understanding team dynamics and many more. One of the most important things, is competitiveness. I know a lot of you may not agree, and you will definitely hear me complaining about how competitive my boys are, but this is important. Things are not handed to you in life. And if they are, you are one of the lucky ones. Most of us have to fight for what we want, daily. If you have no sense of desire for something, and you aren’t willing to fight for it, you are probably not going to get what you want. Being a coordinator is my way of staying involved in sports. I don’t have a ton of time left over in my busy schedule, but I hope that by my boys seeing that I am still involved with sports encourages them to stay involved.

And last but not least, baking and reading. These are my stress relievers. Without these two, I WOULD go crazy. Reading is my go-to. I will read anything once. Actually, I will most likely read anything twice. I love disappearing into a world that was created by someone else. There is a quote I once saw that says, ‘a good book makes you want to live in the story. A great book doesn’t give you a choice.’ This is so true. And there are so many authors out there, well-known and independent, that write amazing stories. Baking is my story writing, in a sense. I love taking a recipe and making it my own. I love experimenting with something new and having it come out better than you thought possible. These two things make my crazy life turn into organized chaos.

So, if you have stuck with me to the end, thank you. I hope that I have entertained you a little bit. My stories will continue and there are a lot of stories. My blog won’t just be full of obnoxiously long posts, but it will be full of life. Recipes, book recommendations, stories about my boys (and let me tell you, there are a lot!) and just about daily occurrences. Hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy putting this all down. So from my nutty family to yours…..

Have a great day!

Jaime

Leave a Reply

