Daily Life

Dinner? Such a difficult decision….

Anyone else have issues planning dinner? Or any meal in general? Every week, I think let’s create a menu for the week! This always seems like such a great idea when I hear our friends doing this. But seriously? How do you know that you are going to feel like eating tacos on Tuesday or waffles on Wednesday? I am so indecisive when it comes to food. I usually get home from work and I am craving potato skins or perogies or breakfast for dinner. But, what if that isn’t on the menu for tonight? What then? Do you defer from the plan or do you make what you decided on Sunday night? What if your commute took an hour longer than you planned?  How do Menu-people deal with all these factors? Someone needs to explain this more to me.

So tonight, like a typical Sunday in our house, I was going through my head of all the items we have in the freezer and pantry and everything sounds awful. We have fish, chicken, beef, potatoes, rice, noodles, etc, but yet, we have nothing in the house. Sorry, I should say nothing that I want to eat. And of course, since I am cooking the meal, I get to choose what we eat. Do you all have those go-to dinners? The ones that have been passed down in your family and you can throw it together at a moment’s notice? That everyone in your house loves? Well, Chicken A La King is one of those options for us. Some leftover chicken, frozen peas and corn, some chopped up red peppers and a cream based sauce and voila! A meal everyone will enjoy.

Except tonight. Tonight, like many nights in the past month or so, Chase looks at me and says, ‘I am not eating that. I don’t like chicken a la king.’ This is the same phrase (substitute the food item) that he has been repeating for far too long. Yet, ten minutes later when I finally convince him to eat it, he says ‘This is really good mom.’ Face palm. Seriously? He is going to cause me more grey hairs than I already have.

So, what is your go-to meal? What do you do when your children refuse to eat?

Jaime

3 thoughts on “Dinner? Such a difficult decision….

Leave a Reply

