Daily Life

Resolutions

Me again. Do you make new year’s resolutions? I know I used to, but I can’t remember a single time that I actually stuck to the ‘plan’. A friend of mine showed me this quote on New Year’s eve and it resonated with me. I looked up the name associated with this quote, Danielle Doby. I had no idea who this woman is, and I still don’t, but her Instagram account was worth the look. Her instagram is @iamhertribe and is full of inspirational quotes. I can spend 5 minutes on there and find 10 quotes worth saving. Definitely check it out if you need a pick me up.

I am not a problem. My life is not a problem. The decisions I make for myself, my family are not problems. So why do I feel that there is a need to set a resolution? I have always believed that everything happens for a reason and our past experiences make us who we are. They make us stronger, wiser and capable of handling anything that comes our way. Yet, every year, we talk about setting resolutions. Coming up with solutions to problems we thought we had the year before.

This year, I am going to attempt to become the best me that I can be. If that means that I am going to go to the gym more, eat healthier, drink less, then so be it. However, I am not going to feel guilty about what I am eating, if I have a rough day and don’t want to go to the gym, or if I decide to have a few drinks with the husband on the weekend. I also won’t feel ashamed New Year’s eve when I look back on the year and realize I may or may not have met my resolution.

I am going to spend more time with my kids, communicate better with my husband, put the phone and computer away and try to enjoy every day to the fullest. Because that is what I want to be doing. Not worrying daily if I am overweight, not eating well enough, drinking too much, whether or not I am doing right by my kids, comparing myself to other moms, etc. I know that I am not perfect and I know that I will make mistakes as the months go by, but I am okay with that. I am okay with me.

As Robert Eliot says, ‘Rule number one is don’t sweat the small stuff. Rule number two is, it’s all small stuff.’

Jaime

 

Leave a Reply

