Daily Life · family

Family Day

So for those of us that live in beautiful British Columbia, it was a long weekend for us. Monday was family day. Now, I don’t know about you, but we spend a lot of time together as a family. But it is always nice to be able to have a long weekend to get out and do fun activities together. This weekend was nothing short of full. Full of family, love and laughter.

We drove up to Kamloops to see my mom and step-dad. Usually we would take the Coquihalla highway (reality lovers: Highway Thru Hell), however, with this recent bout of bad weather, they closed the highway Thursday night. We weren’t leaving until Friday afternoon, and for those well-travelled drivers, we knew that the road conditions could change in an instant. Granted our families wanted us to be safe. We would never take huge risks, especially in winter conditions. But we really wanted to spend the weekend with my mom. So we drove to Hope and made our decision from there. The Coq wasn’t supposed to be open for another hour and after thinking about all the traffic (some people were stuck overnight still waiting for the road to open), we opted to take Highway 3 thru Princeton as Highway 1 (the canyon) was also closed due to avalanche control. Now for those of you who haven’t taken any of these highways, the Coquihalla is the most direct route. To get from Surrey to Kamloops (326km) takes about 3 1/2 hours. It is usually 2-3 lanes the whole way. In really bad conditions, you usually take the canyon, which takes about 5 hours to drive 400km. This time, we didn’t have that option. So we went highway 3. This road is one lane most of the way, with trucks and winding curves, but it is sure beautiful. This way also takes about 5 hours and we hadn’t driven it in quite a long time. This way also does not have cell service. It’s interesting to find the pockets of the province that don’t have cell towers. Needless to say, we couldn’t tell anyone where we were or which way we were going. So people started to freak out. We made it safe and sound, albeit 2 hours later than planned. It was a great start to the family day weekend.

We arrived and Mom had ordered us Mary Brown’s chicken for dinner. I had never had this before as I haven’t had fried chicken ever since I discovered that MSG sets off my migraines and KFC has a crap load of MSG in their secret seasoning. I am very careful when it comes to eating foods that I am not sure of their MSG content. This chicken was good! And no migraine afterwards! So bonus points for Mary Brown’s. That night the boys played some video games with their Uncle Mike and then it was off to bed.

Saturday, I was up bright and early. And these next sentences might seem weird to you, but here goes. I was getting my hair cut. In Kamloops. Like I have for the last 10+ years. Yes, I drive 3+ hours to get my hair cut. But Carl at RA in Kamloops is amazing! And he cuts my hair the way I want it, even if it’s drastic like it was this time. He is such a great stylist, that my appointment was actually on Friday night at 5, and he called my mom to switch it to Saturday morning because he didn’t want me rushing on the highway in winter conditions to make a hair appointment. He cut off over 6 inches and my hair feels fantastic!! Love short hair! Saturday night, we all went bowling. 4 adults and 2 kids. We went to Falcon Lanes in Kamloops, which has been there as long as I can remember. I don’t actually think it has changed in my collective memory. I love bowling and I love the old school bowling alleys. The ones with a little concession and a party room and old ugly flooring and old school screens that are still in the stone age. We are a fairly competitive family, so the boys were quite happy when they both beat Grandma!

Sunday we took the boys sledding at Singh Bowl. This is a now a soccer field, but growing up it was always used for water runoff. It’s a rectangle with large hills surrounding it. So it makes it the perfect place to sled. We spent 2 or 3 hours there with Uncle Mike enjoying the snow and the sun! Then it was family dinner. Afterwards we played some games: Mario Kart, Smash Bros and Crib. Hubby and I lost to my mom and step-dad. Never a good thing for us. We are really too competitive!

Monday was time for us to go home. We had to triple check the roads, as we did not want to get stuck anywhere. Roads were clear and away we went. The drive was uneventful and very quick. Not a single speck of snow anywhere near the pavement. We stopped in Abbotsford at Castle Fun Park and did some go-carts and let the boys play some games. Then away home to get ready for a new week. On the way home, we saw this beautiful sunset:

We had a great weekend spending the time with family and we hope you did too!

Jaime

Leave a Reply

